• Human-Translated Fact Sheets and Video
  • Large Print
Add To Favorites In PHR

New Veterans Gallery, Traveling Exhibits Highlight History Museum's Feb. 6 Reopening

The Greeneville Sun - 1/27/2018

When doors to the Greeneville-Greene County History Museum reopen Feb. 6, visitors will see a newly renovated veterans gallery, two traveling exhibits from the Tennessee State Museum and an exhibit commemorating the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I.

A news release says the Earl Fletcher Jr. Veterans Gallery has undergone extensive renovation and features more streamlined displays that allow visitors to clearly see displayed artifacts.

Prominently featured are the Purple Heart and other medals awarded to the late Reece Gass, the Cross Anchor native who died in World War II, but whose remains were not identified and returned to Greene County until 2017.

Another gripping display features drawings made by German prisoners of war during World War II.

The museum will also commemorate the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I.

Two additional interactive exhibits designed for youth will be featured during the month of February.

Geared to those in grades 8-12, "The Lives of Three Tennessee Slaves and Their Journey Towards Freedom" explores the stories of three slaves from Tennessee who gained their freedom.

"Daily Life On The Tennessee Frontier" is designed for grades 2-5 and challenges students to compare modern life with the hardships of the frontier.

Curriculum guides and lessons plans are available for teachers and group tours may be arranged by contacting Museum Director Betty Fletcher via email at Betty@TheMuseum.us., the news release says.

The Greeneville-Greene County History Museum reopens Feb. 6 with normal operating hours of 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., Tuesday through Saturday.

Museum members and supporters are invited to the opening reception on Thursday, Feb. 8, at 5 p.m.

There is no admission charge, but donations are welcome.



At the museum board's Jan. 24 meeting, new co-presidents Bill Brown and Dan Spice reviewed plans for the coming year.

Joining them as board officers this year are Vice President Vera Ann Myers; Secretary Kathy Giles; and Treasurer Christopher Gose. New board members are Angela Campbell and Joyce Doughty, who join returning members Jonathan Cave, Terry Greene, Jake Haun, Dan Hawk, Ron Knabel, Billie Roberts, Mark Russell and Jim Small.


Driving Walking/Biking Public Transit  Get Directions